

SCDOT Requests Public Comment on the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program to Include the Preliminary Engineering, Right of Way and Construction Phases to Twelve (12) Closed Bridges Located within Various Counties of the State

The South Carolina Department of Transportation (SCDOT) requests comments from the public on twelve closed bridge projects in ten counties to be included in the 2021-2027 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program (STIP).

The public has the opportunity to comment on the action to amend the STIP to include the preliminary engineering, right of way and construction phases of work. SCDOT will receive public comment for a 21-day period from <u>August 12, 2022</u> through <u>September 1, 2022</u>.

SCDOT certifies that these projects were selected in consideration of established priorities as required by federal laws or regulations and in accordance with SC Code of Laws Section 57-1-370 (Act 114) and the SCDOT's 10 Year Plan.

A summary of substantive comments will be available to the Commission. Pending no substantive comments, these projects will be added to a subsequent STIP version.

A copy of this press release, along with an interactive online map, is available for public review and comment online until **September 1**, **2022** at these links:

English: Spanish:

https://bit.ly/SCDOTClosedBridgesVarious https://bit.ly/SCDOTClosedBridgesVariousSP

To assist those who do not have internet access, a hard copy of this press release and any supporting information are available for public review and comment at the following locations:

South Carolina Council of Governments: Appalachian Council of Governments Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Oconee, Pickens & Spartanburg 30 Century Circle Greenville, SC 29607 (864) 242-9733 Lower Savannah Council of Governments
Aiken, Allendale, Bamberg, Barnwell, Calhoun &
Orangeburg
2748 Wagener Road
Hwy 302 North
Aiken, SC 29801
(803) 649-7981

Upper Savannah Council of Governments

Abbeville, Edgefield, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick & Saluda 430 Helix Road Greenwood SC 29646 (864) 941-8072

Santee-Lynches Council of Governments

Clarendon, Kershaw, Lee & Sumter 2525 Corporate Way, Suite 200 Sumter, SC 29154 (803) 775-7381

Catawba Regional Council of Governments

Chester, Lancaster, York & Union 215 Hampton Street Second Floor. Rock Hill, SC 29731 (803) 327-1912

Central Midlands Council of Governments

Fairfield, Lexington, Newberry & Richland 236 Stoneridge Drive Columbia, SC 29210 (803) 376-5390

Waccamaw Regional Planning and Development Council of Governments

Georgetown, Horry & Williamsburg 1230 Highmarket Street Georgetown, SC 29440 (843) 546-8502

SCDOT District Offices: District 1

1400 Shop Road Columbia, SC 29201 (803) 737-6660

District 3

252 S. Pleasantburg Drive Greenville, SC 29607 (864)241-1010

District 5

3018 East Palmetto Florence, SC 29506 (843) 661-4710

District 7

P.O. Box 1086 1724 Charleston Hwy Orangeburg, SC 29116 (803-531-6850

Pee Dee Regional Council of Governments

Chesterfield, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion & Marlboro 2314 Pisgah Road Florence, SC 29501 (843) 669-3138

Lowcountry Council of Governments

Beaufort, Colleton, Hampton & Jasper 634 Campground Road Yemassee, SC 29945 (843) 726-5536

Berkeley-Charleston-Dorchester Council of Governments

Berkeley, Charleston & Dorchester 5790 Casper Padgett Way North Charleston, SC 29406 (843) 529-0400

District 2

510 W. Alexander Ave. Greenwood, SC 29646 (864) 227-6971

District 4

1232 J.A. Cochran Bypass Chester, SC 29706 (803) 377-4155

District 6

6355 Fain Blvd. North Charleston, SC 29406 (843) 740-1665

Comments will be accepted until the close of business on <u>September 1, 2022</u> and should be forwarded to Mrs. Syrees Oliver, Public Involvement Director, SCDOT, Environmental Services Office, 955 Park Street, P.O. Box 191, Columbia, S.C. 29202 or <u>SCDOTpubliccomment@scdot.org.</u>

NOTE: Information provided, including name and address, is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Act.